Germany and Soviet Union conclude their division of Poland

The signing of the Molotov-Ribbbertrop Pact in August 1939. Soviet foreign minister Molotov (left), German foreign minister Ribbentrop (3rd from right), Soviet leader Stalin (2nd from right).

The Soviet Union and Nazi Germany today concluded their division of Poland according to the terms of the Molotov-Ribbentrop Pact. 

This agreement has resulted in the Soviet Union occupying the eastern part of Poland, while Nazi Germany controls the western part. The border between these two occupation zones is the Bug River.

This division of Poland between two major powers further solidifies the occupation and marks the beginning of a new phase of the war, with Poland effectively disappearing from the map as an independent nation for the duration of the conflict. The invasion and partition of Poland will have far-reaching consequences for the rest of the war and the subsequent geopolitical landscape of Eastern Europe.

Exit mobile version