Tuesday, 18 June, 2024
05December 1939

Multiple European nations declare neutrality in Winter War

A number of European nations declared their neutrality towards the Soviet invasion of Finland on this day.

The European nations were Italy, Norway Denmark and Sweden. These declarations were made to partly avoid their own countries being dragged into the conflict. Sweden, however, went a step further and proclaimed it was a ‘non-belligerency’. This slightly different term of neutrality allowed Sweden to provide military support to Finland, without officially entering the war.

On the same day, advanced Soviet forces of the 7th Army reached the Mannerheim Line, the defensive line along the Finnish side of the border.

Founder, owner and developer of WW2 Daily.

Related Posts